FASDEM cover.png

Failing and Successful Sequences of Democratization (FASDEM)

"Failing and Successful Sequences of Democratization" (FASDEM) is a new cutting-edge research program led by Prof. Staffan I. Lindberg, Director of V-Dem Institute, which promises to revolutionize understanding of both the failing trajectories of democracy, and the successful pathways, and tell why this is the case.

FASDEM will capitalize on a set of novel analytical approaches and methods adapted from modeling in evolutionary biology; it will also take advantage of V-Dem dataset. With a large set of V-Dem indicators measured over many years, it would become possible for the first time to explore transition sequences. V-Dem data will make it possible to search for endogenous democratic sequences not necessarily contemplated by current theory – and do so with regards to long chains of sequential relationships between many factors.

Detailed information about the project can be found here  FASDEM project.pdf (1.5 MB) .

ERC Consolidator Grant 2017 - 2021 

ERC.png

 

Research Questions and Methods

Sub-Project 1

Which are the failing & successful sequences of democratization?

Sub-Project 2

What are the determining causal relationships in these sequences?

New Sequencing Methods

Adapted from Evolutionary Biology (parasite-host systems)

A. Graphical Investigation
B. Frequency Tables
C. Dependency Analysis
D. Bayesian Dynamic Systems

Causal Identification Methods

Genetics/Bayesian Statistics/Econometrics

A. Sequencing Algorithms
B. Dynamic Treatment Regimes
C. Vector Auto-Regression
 

1.png

 

2.png

Team

Lindberg.jpg

Staffan I. Lindberg

Principal Investigator

Professor, Dept. of Political Science, U of Gothenburg

Principal Investigator, Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem)

Wallenberg Academy Fellow

Member, Young Academy of Sweden

Member, Board of U of Gothenburg

papers.ssrn.com
www.pol.gu.se

sil@v-dem.net

AdamGlynn.jpg

Adam Glynn

Senior Researcher

Associate Professor
Department of Political Science, 
Emory University

adam.glynn@emory.edu

Teorell.png

Jan Teorell

Associate Researcher

Professor of Political Science
Lund University
tel. 046-2228093
www.svet.lu.se

jan.teorell@svet.lu.se

Lindenfors.jpg

Patrik Lindenfors

Associate Researcher

Assistant Professor of Zoological Ecology
Center for the Study of Cultural Evolution, Stockholm University

patrik.lindenfors@zoologi.su.se

Matthew .JPG

Matthew Wilson

Associate Researcher

Associate Professor, West Virginia University

mhwilson1@mail.wvu.edu

Maxwell_photo.jpg

Laura Maxwell

Associate Researcher

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

laura.maxwell@v-dem.net

Juraj.png

Juraj Medzihorsky

Post-Doc

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

juraj.medzihorsky@v-dem.net

Richard Morgan.png

Richard Morgan

Post-Doc

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

richard.morgan@v-dem.net

klm0615.jpg

Kyle Marquardt

Post-Doc

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

kyle.marquardt@v-dem.net

Josh.JPG

Joshua Krusell

Data Manager

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

joshua.krusell@v-dem.net

valeriya mechkova.png

Valeriya Mechkova

PhD Student

V-Dem Institute, Department of Political Science, 
University of Gothenburg

valeriya.mechkova@v-dem.net