Principal Investigators


Michael Coppedge

Democracy, Dimensions, & Diffusion; Latin America

Professor of Political Science and
Faculty Fellow, Kellogg Institute for International Studies
University of Notre Dame
(574) 631-7036


Staffan I. Lindberg

Democracy, Institutions, & Elections; Africa

Director, V-Dem Institute

Professor, Dept. of Political Science, University of Gothenburg
Research Fellow, Quality of Government Institute, Wallenberg Academy Fellow, Member, Young Academy of Sweden, Snr Adviser, International Law and Policy Institute


John Gerring

Democracy & Development, Research Design

Professor of Political Science, University of Texas at Austin


Svend-Erik Skaaning

Civil Liberties & HR; Western Europe

Professor of Political Science
Aarhus University



Former Principal Investigator


Jan Teorell

Democratization, Democracy, & the Executive; Europe

Professor of Political Science
Lund University
tel. 046-2228093