International Advisory Board

larry diamond.jpg

Larry Diamond

Larry Diamond is a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI) and a Bass University Fellow in Undergraduate Education at Stanford University. His is also professor by courtesy of Political Science and Sociology at Stanford. He leads the Hoover Institution’s programs on China’s Global Sharp Power and on Taiwan in the Indo-Pacific Region. He is the founding coeditor of the Journal of Democracy and also serves as senior consultant at the International Forum for Democratic Studies of the National Endowment for Democracy.

Jeremy Kinman.jpeg

Jeremy K. B. Kinsman

Jeremy Kinsman was Canadian ambassador in Moscow, Rome, London and Brussels (EU) 1992-2006. From 2007-17 He was successively Diplomat in Residence at Princeton, Regent's Lecturer at the University of California, Berkeley, and Distinguished Diplomatic Visitor at Ryerson University, Toronto. He is co-author with Dr. Kurt Bassuener of "A Diplomat's Handbook for Democracy Development Support " (2014). He was a member of Justin Trudeau's Foreign Policy Council. Since 2017, he is Distinguished Fellow at the Canadian International Council, and foreign affairs analyst for CTV News.


Leonardo Morlino

Leonardo Morlino is Professor Emeritus of Political Science at LUISS, Rome. He is the author, co-author or editor of more than 45 books and author or co-author of more than 230 journal essays and book chapters, published in English, French, German, Spanish, Hungarian, Chinese, Mongolian, and Japanese. His most recent books include: Equality, Freedom, and Democracy. Europe After the Great Recession (Oxford UP, 2020), Comparison. An Methodological Introduction for the Social Sciences (Barbara Budrich, 2018), The Impact of Economic Crisis on South European Democracies (Palgrave, 2017), The quality of Democracy in Latin America (IDEA, 2016), in addition to being one of the three co-editors of the Handbook of Political Science (3 voll., Sage Publications, 2020).

Ismail Serageldin.jpg

Ismail Serageldin

Ismail Serageldin is the Founding Director of The Bibliotheca Alexandrina (BA), the new Library of Alexandria, inaugurated in 2002 in Egypt.  He has held many important international positions, including Vice President of the World Bank (1992-2000), and Chairman Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR, 1994-2000). He has lectured and published widely and has received many honors and prizes and over 30 honorary doctorates. He is a member of many academies, and held a chair at the Collège de France, Paris (2010-2011) and at the Belgian Academy (2013-2014). He is a Patron of the International Science Council (ISC).


Aitzaz AHSAN

is Senior Advocate of the Supreme Court of Pakistan. In 2007-08 he was president of Pakistan’s Supreme Court Bar Association. During 1988-93 he was a member of the National Assembly. In 1994-99 he was a member of the Senate, where he was Leader of the Opposition. He has also served as Minister of the Interior and as Minister of Law and Justice.


Abdullah M. ALSAIDI

is Senior Fellow at the International Peace Institute. From 2002 until 2011 he was Permanent Representative of Yemen to the United Nations. He served as Yemen’s Vice-Minister of Foreign Affairs from 1999 to 2002, and as a member of the National Arbitration Committee from 1996 to 2002.

Yun-han Chu.jpg

Yun-Han Chu

is Distinguished Research Fellow at the Institute of Political Science at Academia Sinica and Professor of Political Science at National Taiwan University. He served as Coordinator of the Asian Barometer Survey and is currently on the editorial board of Journal of Democracy, Pacific Affairs, China Review, Journal of Contemporary China, International Studies Perspectives, and Journal of East Asian Studies. He is author, co-author, editor or co-editor of fifteen books.



has served as a Special Adviser to the Secretary-General on the Prevention of Genocide until end of July 2012. From 2006 to 2007, Mr. Deng served as Director of the Sudan Peace Support Project based at the United States Institute of Peace. He was also a Wilhelm Fellow at the Center for International Studies of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and a Research Professor of International Politics, Law and Society at Johns Hopkins University Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies. Before joining MIT, Mr. Deng was a Distinguished Visiting Scholar at the John Kluge Center of the Library of Congress.



is a Nonresident Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institute, she was also a Senior Associate and Chair of the Russian Domestic Politics and Political Institutions Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Moscow Center. She is also Professor of Political Science, Moscow State Institute of International Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation.



is Professor of Political Science at the Brazilian School of Public Administration and Business, Rio de Janeiro. She has served as a member of Brazil’s National Council on Economic and Social Development and on the Brazilian Health Social Determinants Commission.

E. Gyimah-Boadi - pix.jpg


is Professor of Political Science at the University of Ghana and Executive Director of the Ghana Center for Democratic Development (CDD-Ghana). He is also codirector of the of the Afrobarometer project.

Cyd Ho 2.JPG

Cyd HO Sau-lan

is a member of the Legislative Council of Hong Kong. She is also chair of Hong Kong Human Rights Monitor, a founding councilor of the World Future Council, and co-convener of Project Civil Referendum.

Mr. G.J.W. -Gerritjan- van Oven.jpg


is Vice-President of the Court of Appeal in the Hague and President of the Judges for Judges Foundation. Between 1994 and 2003 he was a member of the States-General (parliament) of the Netherlands. From 1983 to 1990 he served as a public prosecutor in Amsterdam.

chung-in moon.JPG

Chung-in MOON

 is Professor of Political Science, Yonsei University, Seoul, and Editor-in-Chief of Global Asia. He has also served as Ambassador for International Security Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade and Chairman of the Presidential Committee on Northeast Asian Cooperation Initiative, Republic of Korea.

Oyun Sanjaasuren.jpg

OYUN Sanjaasuren

is a member of the Great State Assembly (parliament) of Mongolia, Chair of the Zorig Foundation, and President of the Mongolian Geological Association. In 2004-05 she served as the Vice-Speaker of the Great State Assembly. In 2007-08 she was Mongolia’s Minister of Foreign Affairs.



is Executive Director and cofounder of Lembaga Survei Indonesia (LSI, Indonesian Survey Institute) and Professor of Social and Political Sciences, State Islamic University of Jakarta. He is also Director of Research at the Freedom Institute, Jakarta.



is Professor of International Political Economy and Director of the Center for Research on Globalization and Democratic Governance (GLODEM), Koç University, Istanbul. He has also served as Director of the Graduate School of Social Sciences and Humanities at Koç University and Professor of Economics at Boğaziçi University.